Daily Archives: October 5, 2011

How Dodgy DNA Freed Amanda Knox


Discovery News
The poor handling of DNA evidence played a starring role in the appeal of American student Amanda Knox this week and led to her release from a prison in Perugia, Italy.

Promega Webinar: SE33 and PowerPlex ESI 17 Pro Kit: Concordance Results with NIST U.S. Population Samples


Date: Wednesday October 12, 2011
Time: 4.00 PM – 5.00 PM (CEST: Amsterdam, Paris, Berlin
Time: 3.00 PM – 4.00 PM (BST: London)
Time: 10.00 AM – 11.00 AM (EDT: New York)
The webinar will approximately take 1 hour. All Promega @cademy webinars are free,

Epistem in DNA crime scene collaboration


Insider Media
Manchester-based biotechnology business Epistem has formed a collaboration with the National Policing Improvement Agency (NPIA) that could lead to more accurate DNA analysis at a crime scene.

Application Note Shows ZyGEM’s forensicGEM® Tissue Facilitates Forensic Casework by Rapidly and Reproducibly Extracting DNA From Human Hair


Bio-Medicine
CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va., Oct. 5, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — ZyGEM Corp. Ltd., a developer and marketer of innovative products for the analysis of DNA and other nucleic acids, today announced publication of an application note showing that its forensicGEM® Tissue kit can rapidly extract DNA from small samples of human hair.